Dec 3, 2017, 12:44 PM
News Code: 82750914
0 Persons
2017 Mustafa Prize winners announced

Tehran, Dec 3, IRNA - An Iranian and a Turkish professor were awarded the 2017 Mustafa (PBUH) Prize in a ceremony held in Tehran's Vahdat Hall on Sunday.

Mohammad Amin Shokrollahi, (born 1964, Iran) a Professor of Math and Computer Science who has worked on a variety of topics, including coding theory and algebraic complexity theory and Sami Erol Gelenbe, (born 1945, Turkey) a computer scientist, electronic engineer and applied mathematician at Imperial College, London, UK, won the prestigious prize.

Several high-ranking Iranian officials including Chairman of the Atomic Energy Organization of Iran (AEOI) Ali Akbar Salehi, Iran's Vice-President for Science and Technology Sorena Sattari, Iranian lawmakers, and other dignatories attended the event.

The Mustafa Prize, a science and technology award, granted to top researchers and scientists from the Organization of Islamic Cooperation member-states biennially, is going to become an Islamic version of the Nobel Prize in the future.


Follow us on Twitter @IrnaEnglish