Aug 5, 2021, 10:09 AM
Journalist ID: 956
News Code: 84427174
0 Persons


IPU president in Tehran to partake in Raisi's swearing-in ceremony

Tehran, IRNA - Duarte Pacheco, the 30th President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU), has arrived in Tehran, capital of Iran, in order to participate in the swearing-in ceremony of president-elect Ebrahim Raisi Thursday afternoon.

Pacheco has been well received by Ahmad Naderi, a lawmaker representing Tehran at the Iranian parliament, early on Thursday.
The IPU president is going to take part in the swearing-in ceremony along with tens of other high-ranking officials from other countries and organizations.
Venezuelan vice president, Bangladesh's foreign minister, deputy foreign minister of South Korea, Ghana's deputy foreign minister, leader Shia community in Turkey, deputy speaker of Kazakhstan's parliament, head of supreme council of Kyrgyzstan, as well as parliament speakers from Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Zanzibar, Syria, Tanzania and Niger, has arrived in Tehran to take part in the ceremony.
Deputy speaker of Malaysian Parliament, Ghana's tourism minister, director general of Italy's Foreign Ministry and secretary-general of OPEC are also in Tehran to participate in the event.
High-ranking officials of the European Union headed by Deputy Secretary-General of the European Union (EU) for Foreign Action Enrique Mora arrived in Tehran on Tuesday to take part in the ceremony. The EU ambassador to Vienna and head of the Iran Action Desk in the European Union accompany Mora in the visit.
Ebrahim Raisi will be sworn in as president of the Islamic Republic of Iran at the parliament at 17:00 local time. 
Out of over 59.3 million eligible voters, nearly 29 million took part in the 13th presidential election on June 18, 2021. Ebrahim Raisi won the presidential race with 17,926,345 votes out of the total 28,933,004 ballots, which shows a 48.8 percent turnout.
The swearing-in of the president in Iran is based on Article 121 of the constitution. According to the constitution, in the swearing-in ceremony, the Judiciary chief and members of the Expediency Council should be present in the parliament.
Supreme Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Seyed Ali Khamenei endorsed the decree of Ebrahim Raisi as the 8th president of Iran.


Follow us on Twitter @IrnaEnglish

Your Comment

You are replying to: .