Jun 3, 2019, 12:44 PM
News Code: 83339492
0 Persons
Iran; 11th country in the UNESCO tangible cultural heritage

Tehran, June 2, IRNA - Iran is regarded as the 11th country in the UNESCO tangible cultural heritage in light of presence of historical buildings and landmark places, monuments, artifacts which are considered worthy of preservation for the future generations. Iran is rich in terms of possessing antiquities significant to the archaeology, architecture, science or technology of the Iranian culture.

Cultural heritage is the legacy of physical artifacts and intangible attributes of a group or society that are inherited from past generations, maintained in the present and bestowed for the benefit of future generations.  

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) said that the World Heritage Sites are places of importance to cultural or natural heritage as described in the UNESCO World Heritage Convention, established in 1972.

Iran accepted the convention on 26 February 1975, making its historical sites eligible for inclusion on the list. As of 2018, twenty-three sites in Iran are included.

The first three sites in Iran, Meidan Emam, Isfahan, Persepolis, and Chogha Zanbil, were inscribed on the list at the 3rd Session of the World Heritage Committee, held in Paris, France in 1979.[3] They remained the Islamic Republic's only listed properties until 2003 when Takht-e Soleyman was added to the list.

The latest addition was The Sassanid Archaeological Landscape, inscribed in 2018 and In addition to its inscribed sites, Iran also lists fifty-five properties on its tentative list.

*** Iran World Heritage Sites

Iran has 23 registered UNESCO World Heritage sites. The list includes 22 cultural heritage and one natural heritage. This position is not regarded as acceptable for a country with more than seven thousand years of civilization.

"Armenian Monastic Ensembles of Iran, Bam and its Cultural Landscape, Bisotun, Cultural Landscape of Maymand, Gonbad-e Qābus, Golestan Palace, Lut Desert, The Ensemble of Historical Sassanian Cities in Fars province (Bishabpur, Firouzabad, Sarvestan), Masjed-e Jāmé of Isfahan, Naqsh-e Jahan Square, and Pasargad" are in the list of Iran World Heritage Sites. 

"Persepolis, Shahr-e Sukhteh, Sheikh Safi al-din Khānegāh and Shrine Ensemble in Ardabil, Shushtar Historical Hydraulic System, Soltaniyeh, Susa, Tabriz Historic Bazaar Complex, Takht-e Soleyman, Tchogha Zanbil, The Persian Garden, The Persian Qanat, Historic City of Yazd" are regarded in the list as well.


Follow us on Twitter @IrnaEnglish

Your Comment

You are replying to: .