May 28, 2020, 9:59 AM
Journalist ID: 1114
News Code: 83802608
1 Persons


Iran's parliament elects Qalibaf as new speaker

Tehran, May 28, IRNA – The newly-elected Iranian MPs convened for a second time on Thursday and elected Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf as the Parliament speaker for the first year of the new Parliament.

Qalibaf secured 230 votes out of a total of 264 votes cast to become Majlis speaker.

Fereydoon Abbasi and Mostafa Mirsalim, the other candidates, gained 17 and 12 votes, respectively after Qalibaf.

Amir-Hossein Ghazizadeh Hashemi from Mashad constituency and Ali Nikzad from Ardebil constituency received 208 and 196 votes will be elected first vice-speaker and second vice-speaker, respectively.


Follow us on Twitter @IrnaEnglish

Your Comment

You are replying to: .