Oct 10, 2018, 11:38 AM
News Code: 83061014
0 Persons
Iran among 87 countries to compete in Oscar foreign films category

Tehran, Oct 10, IRNA - Foreign-language film category of the 91st Academy Awards has received entries from 87 countries for this year’s event. The entries include high-profile films like Mexico’s ‘Roma’ and Poland’s ‘Cold War’.

‘No Date, No Signature’, by director Vahid Jalilvand, is Iran’s representative for the Oscar this year.

The theme of ‘No Date, No Signature’ revolves around a forensic pathologist who is involved in an accident and faces an ethical dilemma whether or not he is responsible for the death of a child.

The film has received many international awards in the past year including Best Director Award for Jalilvand and Best Actor Award for Navid Mohammadzadeh at the Venice Film Festival; Best Film Award at the Brussels International Film Festival; and Best Director Award at Russia’s Mirror International Film Festival, among others.

That number is down slightly from the record 92 films that were submitted last year. For the first time, Malawi, which submitted Shemu Joyah’s ‘The Road to Sunrise’, and Niger, which submitted Rahmatou Keita’s ‘The Wedding Ring’, entered films.

The entries include high-profile titles like Alfonso Cuaron’s ‘Roma’, which is also expected to be a best picture Oscar contender, from Mexico; Kore-eda Hirokazu’s ‘Shoplifters’, from Japan, which won the Palme d’Or at this year’s Cannes Film Festival; the Cannes jury prize winner, Nadine Labaki’s ‘Capernaum’, from Lebanon; and Pawel Pawlikowski’s ‘Cold War’, from Poland, which won the best director prize at Cannes.

France opted to enter Emmanuel Finkiel’s World War II drama ‘Memoirs of War’; Spain submitted Javier Fesser’s ‘Champions’, about a basketball team with intellectual disabilities; Italy offered Matteo Garron’s revenge drama ‘Dogman’; Germany submitted the love story ‘Never Look Away’, directed by Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, who had a previous Oscar winner with 2006’s ‘The Lives of Others’; and Hungary entered the period drama ‘Sunset’, directed by Laszlo Nemes, whose 2015 film ‘Son of Saul’ was also an Oscar winner.

Since submissions don’t have to be in a country’s dominant language, the UK has submitted Rungano Nyoni’s ‘I Am Not a Witch’, which is set in Zambia, while Australia is represented by Benjamin Gilmour’s ‘Jirga’, which is set in Afghanistan.

Nominations will be announced January 22, and the Oscars will be broadcast live on February 24 from the Dolby Theater at Hollywood and Highland Center.

Source: Iran daily


Follow us on Twitter @IrnaEnglish