Sep 3, 2018, 5:20 PM
News Code: 83021622
0 Persons
13 Persian carpets in global registration waiting list

Tehran, Sept 3, IRNA - Deputy Director for Research and Development at the National Carpet Center, said that the carpet file of 13 regions of Iran has been sent to the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) for global registration.

Forough Esmaeili, in an interview with IRNA, said on Monday, 'Since 2011, carpets of 57 Iranian regions have been registered in the national registration list, of which 29 have been registered in the world and 13 other cases have been sent to the World Property Organization .

She expressed the hope that the submitted files are being registered as soon as possible so that the records of other Iranian carpets, registered as national ones, could be sent to this international organization.

According to the Deputy Director of the National Carpet Center, national and global carpet registration will be done in order to protect commercial and economic rights of the regions and prevent abuse of the reputation of the carpet in those areas.

According to Esmaeili, 29 hand-woven carpets, registered globally, were exhibited for the first time at the 26th International Carpet Exhibition, which was held from September 3rd to 9th in Tehran

Deputy Director of the National Carpet Center noted that the purpose of putting together the handmade carpet of 29 regions of the country is to get people acquainted with the features and differences of carpets in these areas.

Explaining about the timing of the submission of cases filed at the World Intellectual Property Organization, She noted, 'The registration process lasts a year; after the scientific process, if there are no mistakes, the case for the review and comment of the member states of the treaty of Lisbon are sent.'

Lisbon Treaty was approved in 1958 to support the source and its international registration of carpets, and Iran is also a member of it.

France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Algeria, Turkey, Greece, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Congo, Cuba, Czech Republic, North Korea, Gabon, Georgia, Greece, Haiti, Hungary, Israel, Montenegro, Morocco, Nicaragua, Peru, Portugal, Moldova, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Macedonia, Togo and Tunisia are members of the Treaty of Lisbon.


Follow us on Twitter @IrnaEnglish