May 30, 2018, 11:36 AM
News Code: 82930111
0 Persons
Larijani re-elected Iran's parliament speaker

Tehran, May 30, IRNA - Iranian lawmakers on Wednesday voted to re-elect Ali Larijani as parliament speaker for the third year of the 10th Parliament.

Larijani won 147 out of 279 votes cast during the open session of the parliament on Wednesday.

Larijani's contestant Mohammad Reza Aref won 123 votes.

In the first round of the election, Larijani, Aref and Hamirreza Hajibabaei competed, but none of them couuld get the overwhelming majority of the votes leading the election to a run-off.

In the second round of the voting, Hajibababei withdrew from the competition helping Larijani to win the election.

It is the third consecutive year that Larijani becomes the speaker of the Iranian parliament.


Follow us on Twitter @IrnaEnglish